Mamata Banerjee News, West Bengal Latest News, Bhowanipore Election 2021: Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay resigns, Banerjee to contest by-poll

Mamata Banerjee had lost Nandigram by 1956 votes.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who contested assembly election against Suvendu Adhikari from Nandigram and lost, is returning to her traditional seat Bhabanipur or Bhowanipore. Since Banerjee was not elected to the legislative assembly, she needs to contest by-poll or either get elected through the Legislative Council which her cabinet is working to set up. Mamata Banerjee needs to get re-elected to the assembly within six months to hold on to the chief minister’s chair.

West Bengal minister and veteran TMC leader Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay has contested from the Bhabanipur assembly seat and won defeating BJP’s Rudranil Ghosh. Chattopadhyay has today resigned from the seat, vacating it for Banerjee.

Talking about his resignation, he said that it was a decision of the party. “CM Mamata Banerjee had won twice from Bhawanipore. All party leaders discussed and when I heard that she wanted to contest from here, I thought I should vacate my seat. There’s no pressure on me. Nobody else dares to run a government. I spoke to her and told her that it was her seat and I was just protecting it,” said Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay.

Chattopadhyay has been given agriculture ministry in Mamata Banerjee’s cabinet. The septuagenarian politician is likely to contest from Khardah seat, where a by-poll has been necessitated following the death of TMC’s Kajal Sinha.

Mamata Banerjee had lost Nandigram by 1956 votes. Former TMC leader Suvendu Adhikari, who joined the BJP last year, had emerged as a giant slayer by handing Banerjee the second defeat of her political career.

Despite a high-octane campaign, the BJP could only win 77 seats while Banerjee’s TMC went on to win 213 seats securing a thumping majority. The West Bengal assembly has 294 seats of which 292 went to the polls. Now the election commission will have to hold by-polls in Shamsherganj, Jangipur and Khardaha assembly constituencies.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Source link


Article 370 controversy in Pakistan: Minister’s ‘acceptance’ sets the cat amongst pigeons

This is not the first time that Qureshi has courted controversy by putting his foot in his mouth. (Photo source: Reuters)By Farooq Wani, Since...

FAA mandates Boeing 737 MAX inspections for key automated flight system

Article content WASHINGTON — The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) on Wednesday issued a directive for Boeing requiring operators of 737 MAX airplanes to...

How to Cope With an Overly Energetic Puppy

Getting a puppy is very exciting. However, sometimes your adorable new best friend seems to run on infinite energy. This energy can be an...

How to Launch a Token With Instant Liquidity [Coders Needed]

In this article, I present a new fair-launch method for fungible tokens that instantly and permanently locks up a large portion of the...